## DOWNTOWN DAYTON CATHOLIC CHURCHES – MONTGOMERY COUNTY



**Emmanuel Church - 1837** 149 Franklin St. Dayton, OH 45402 www.emmanuelcatholic.com "First Catholic Parish in Dayton"

First Pastor – Fr. Emanuel Thienpont

Emmanuel was the first Catholic Church in Montgomery County. It was established in 1837 and was a German Territorial Parish. The present building was constructed in 1871 and Bishop Purcell laid the cornerstone. The church has the unique features of two balconies and an 85ft high ceiling that is not supported by pillars giving an unobstructed view of the altar. Emmanuel has been called the "Mother Parish" not only of Dayton and Montgomery County but the Archdiocesan region. Cities with parishes that sprang from the 'Mother Parish" include Bellefontaine, Urbana, Springfield, Morrow, Xenia, Yellow Springs. South Charlestown, Wilmington, Jamestown, Miamisburg, and Osborn. In 1913 Emmanuel as well as all downtown Dayton were victims of the flooding of the rivers that converged into the Miami River in Dayton. The water reached the height of the windowsills inside the church.

**St Joseph Church – 1847** 411 East Second St. Dayton, OH 45402 <a href="https://www.stjosephdayton.org">www.stjosephdayton.org</a>

First Pastor- Fr. Patrick O'Mealy

The number of English-speaking Catholics in Dayton identified the need to have a church where English was the primary language and thus was born St. Joseph. The Irish-Catholic residents of Dayton were enthusiastic, and a lot was purchased, and building begun on St. Joseph Church. The name "St. Joseph" was chosen because the English-speaking has worshipped on the St. Joseph side of Emmanuel Church. The original building was replaced in 1909 and was dedicated on March 19, 1911, the Feast of St. Joseph. As the Italian immigrants arrived in Dayton many made St. Joseph their church and in 1972 the parish celebrated the Festa San Giuseppe led by the Auxiliary Archbishop of Cincinnati, Most Rev. Nicholas Elko.





**Holy Trinity -1861** 272 Bainbridge St. Dayton, OH 45402 <a href="https://www.holytrinitydayton.org">www.holytrinitydayton.org</a>

First Pastor – Fr. Francis J. Goetz

Due to the growth of the German population in Dayton and the overcrowding of Emmanuel church, so in April 1859 began the endeavor to establish a parish to meet their needs. The cornerstone was laid on May 17, 1860. Due to the Civil war construction moved slowly and the church was dedicated on August 15, 1861 and the steeple was completed in 1888. Fr. Francis J. Goetz was the first pastor and served until 1899. (Date) The school built next to the church and the faculty had the Brothers for Mary for the boys and the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur to teach the girls, eventually the Sisters became the only teachers. One of the many challenges faced by the parish was the damage to the walls of the church from the 1913 flood.

Reflection: Look to Him and be radiant Psalm 34:5